Show 57: Creation Entertainment’s “Salute to Serenity and Firefly”

In this show, Wendy and Odile talk about Wendy’s time in Los Angeles and interviews Tim Minear and Steve and Heather from “Browncoats: Redemption”. As mentioned in the show, click here if you want to watch the awesome Browncoats: Redemption trailer.

As usual you can listen to the show here or find us on iTunes!

Wendy also talks about her frustration with Monica Gillen, who is listed as dealing with Media and Press Inquiries on the Creation Entertainment website.  Although there is no wish to show disrespect; to demonstrate why she feels so strongly about this (she first contacted Ms Gillen in 2008), Wendy has decided to post the entire eighteen month timeline of emails between them to let you decide.  Wendy would like to state that while putting this time line together, unfortunately in her annoyance, she deleted some of the dates, but all emails are in the correct chronological order:

Date: Tue, 27 May 2008 14:03:34

To:monica@creationent.com

Subject: Interview enquiry

Dear Monica

I wish to enquire as to the possibility of an interview with Mr Berman and Mr Malin with regard to your company’s “Serenity Salute” event in November 2008.

Please find attached letter which I faxed to your offices in March.

I do hope that we will be able to speak further regarding my request.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?” – Serenity 2005

monica@creationent.com

27/05/2008 15:35

Please respond to monica

To: WScott@ –

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview enquiry

What is this for?  Print publication?

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

Wendy Scott

27/05/2008 17:01

To:        monica@creationent.com

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview enquiry

Hi Monica

No, I’m a presenter of a “Firefly/SERENITY” podcast from the UK.

In light of the success of Creation’s first “Salute to” convention last year and the fact that a second is being held in November, I would like to be able to speak to either Mr Berman or Mr Malin (or both) regarding last year’s event, what can be expected from this year’s event, why have Creation not held an event for “Firefly/SERENITY” prior to 2007 and what made them look at the property?

I’m not looking for a lot of their time, 20 -30 minutes at the most.  Due to the time difference between California and the UK, I would request that we speak late afternoon West Coast time

I look forward to hearing from you further.

Regards

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

Wendy Scott

19/06/2008 13:52

To:        monica@creationent.com

cc:

Subject:        Fw: Interview enquiry

Hi Monica

I hope that this mail finds you well.

I was wondering if you have been able to give any further consideration to my request?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

On Jul 22, 2008, at 8:03 AM, WScott@ – wrote:

Dear Monica

We are still very enthusiastic to be able to speak with Creation with regard to this year’s “Salute To Serenity” convention, even more so as your company were also one of the sponsors for this year’s Can’t Stop The Serenity screenings in aid of Equality Now.

I look forward to being able to discuss this with you further.

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

I will be there later today and will ask.

Monica

On Aug 28, 2008, at 8:20 AM, WScott@ – wrote:

Hi Monica

I do hope that you are well.

Just wondering if you have had a chance to speak with Mr Berman and Mr Malin regarding our interview enquiry?

Also, I will be attending the convention in November and although I have purchased a Gold Pass some months ago, was also wondering about the possibility of press accreditation?

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

Monica Gillen  <mcatg@->

28/08/2008 17:05

To: WScott@ –

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview enquiry

Did not forget but I will ask next week when I am in.

Thanks

Wendy Scott

29/08/2008 09:21

To:        Monica Gillen <>

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview enquiry

Hi

Thanks – lolking forward to hearing further from you.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

On Sep 11, 2008, at 8:46 AM  WScott@ – wrote:

Hi Monica

As we have not been able to speak with Mr Berman and Mr Malin prior to the convention in November, would it be possible to schedule an interview with them during the course of the weekend itself?  As I said in an earlier mail, I will be there to cover the convention for my “Firefly/Serenity”podcast and it would be great if I was able to spend about half an hour with them?

Also, I am still enquiring about your press/media accreditation for that weekend?

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to  –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

Hey Wendy-

I am nuts!!!  Forget my last e-mail!   I went back over the e-mails you sent me and I will ask them today if interested.  AS you being a presenter I can not see a problem.

How would this work?

It might be easier to do the interview on site.  The event is a little far away, time wise, so that is why I did not jump on it, sorry!!!   😦

Monica

On Oct 2, 2008, at 7:50 AM, WScott@ – wrote:

Dear Adam

I understand from – – that you have been more than kind enough to agree to speak to me for “Sending A Wave”, the UK “Firefly/SERENITY” podcast during your convention in November.

I will be arriving at the Marriott on 21 November and leaving during the evening of 23 November, it if would be possible to speak with yourself for about 30 minutes at any part of the weekend, it would be very appreciated.  Although I am already a Gold Pass ticket holder, can I also enquire as to the possibility of press accreditation for the weekend?

As I was unable to attend your convention last year, I am particularly pleased to be able be there this year.

I look forward to discussing this with you further.

Kind regards

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

ADAM MALIN <adam@creationent.com>

02/10/2008 18:45

To: WScott@-

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview enquiry

HI- one morning before we open is probably the best bet, let’s keep it fluid for now. As a Gold member you have access to both shows anyway!

Best-

Adam

Adam  Malin

Co-CEO/ Creation Entertainment/ National Fitness Productions

217 S. Kenwood

Glendale, Ca. 91205

adam@creationent.com

www.creationent.com

On Oct 3, 2008, at 9:27 AM, WScott@ – wrote:

Hi Adam

Thank you for your reply.

I agree, being fluid is the best option.  Is there a particular member of your staff that I should “report” to on my arrival at the Marriot on the 21st that I can leave my cell number with, so you are aware that I’m around?  Just to clarify so I understand the situation exactly, press accreditation would be a completely separate payment/request which will not affect me as a Gold member?

I’m looking forward to meeting and speaking with you.

Have a good weekend and regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

ADAM MALIN <adam@creationent.com>

03/10/2008 19:47

Please speak to Monica, our PR person about press opportunities, at ext. 234.

My cell is -.

Thanks-

Adam  Malin

Co-CEO/ Creation Entertainment/ National Fitness Productions

217 S. Kenwood

Glendale, Ca. 91205

adam@creationent.com

www.creationent.com

Wendy Scott

14/10/2008 16:28

Hi Adam

My apologies for not replying to this sooner.  Many thanks for the information and your cell number – it is most appreciated.

In an example of serendipity yesterday evening, I learned that we have another mutual acquaintance, – -.  Even though it has been a number of years since the – – conventions that he assisted you with, he spoke very warmly regarding his experience with working with you.

Regards and I hope that your final preparations are going as smoothly as they can be at this stage.

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

During the final 6 weeks to the event, I then decided to contact Monica by telephone; I left either 3 or 4 messages on her Creation office voicemail asking her to contact me via email – she didn’t.  I did also email Adam Malin prior to my arrival at the Marriott Burbank on the 21st as well as calling his mobile phone just after lunch that day.  He told me that he didn’t receive my email and, understandably, was unable to speak.

On Jan 30, 2009, at 8:50 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Dear Monica

It was great to very briefly meet you at the “Salute to Serenity” convention in November and I do hope that you have received your CD copies of the 2 podcasts where we focussed on the convention.

As I said in my letter, with the announcement of a third “Salute to Serenity” convention in November this year, we still remain interested with interviewing Mr Malin and/or Mr Berman and I look forward to resuming our contact in an effort to obtain this.

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

PA & Booking Assistant to –

“Nee tzao ss-ma? Nee yow wuh-kai chang?”

Serenity 2005

Hi Wendy-

Sorry to take so long.  I will look into the interview but we do have a lot of time!

When do you want to run the story?

Monica

Wendy Scott

22/04/2009 17:12

To:        Monica Gillen <->

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

Please accept my apologies for this very late reply.  Unfortunately, things had to take priority and I am only now able to come back to you.

I do hope that you all received copies of the shows built around the “Serenity” event last year and even had the opportunity to listen to them.

We do still remain keen to speak with Adam and Gary about this year’s event and organizing in general as it does have to be recognized that Creation are amongst the longest running conventions.  I still do not anticipate this anymore to take any more than half to three-quarters of an hour of their time.

We would like to arrange this for during the summer months, maybe June/July?  I don’t know how ticket sales have been progressing for this year’s event, but maybe it might kickstart something for you and maybe there might be guests to announce?

As I am still hoping to attend this year’s event, I am also keen to discuss with you the possibility of a press pass if I may?

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott

23/06/2009 16:31

To:        Monica Gillen <>, monica@creationent.com

cc:

Subject:        Fw: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

I do hope that you are well.

I’m just touching base to learn if there is any progression to being able to speak with Adam and Gary regarding this year’s Salute to Serenity convention especially has you have been able to announce such exciting guests for the attendees.

I still remain keen to be able to speak with you regarding the possibility of a press pass, if possible?

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

From: Wendy Scott

To: Monica Gillen

To: monica@creationent.com

Sent: Jul 13, 2009 8:58 AM

Subject: Fw: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

I do appreciate that you are busy at the moment, but it would be great if we could touch base regarding below.

Take care

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

monica@creationent.com

28/07/2009 15:22

Please respond to monica

To:        “Wendy Scott” <WScott@ –>

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hey Wendy-

Just checking back with you.  We are slammed the next couple weeks.  Rer e-mail me in late August and I will get the ball rolling!

On Jul 28, 2009, at 7:24 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Hi Monica

No problem and thanks for all your continued assistance with this.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

Monica Gillen <>

31/07/2009 13:40

To:        Wendy Scott <WScott@ – >

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hey Wendy-

What if you e-mail me your questions and I will have one of them answer them – might be easier.

Our big event is next week so I could get answered within the next couple weeks.

Let me know.

Monica

Wendy Scott

31/07/2009 14:27

To:        Monica Gillen <>

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

This is great – thanks – and please thank Mr Malin and Mr Berman on my behalf.  I will get the questions to you next week.

I am very sorry to keep asking about press passes for the “Salute to Serenity” convention, but my recollection was that you appeared to be surprised that I had purchased a ticket for last year’s con when we very briefly spoke last year and therefore I’m unsure of what is the best course of action for this year and what this pass means to have – what are the limitations and expections of the pass, etc.  If you can guide me so I have a better understanding, that would be great and really appreciated.

Have a good weekend and all best wishes for a successful event next week.

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

Wendy Scott

04/08/2009 12:23

To:        Monica Gillen <>, monica@creationent.com

cc:

Subject:        Fw: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

Please find below our questions to both Mr Malin and Mr Berman:

•       You both have been convention organizing for a fair few years; what made you both decide to start and what’s your secret to successful con longevity?

•       You started (and continue) to organize “Star Trek” conventions but over the years have also organized a “James Bond” convention, “Xena”, “Stargate” events, if memory serves (but please correct me if I am wrong) you were involved in organizing the “STAR WARS” 10th anniversary convention and now you are organizing “Twilight” conventions and of course, “Salute to Serenity” – what galvanised the decision to diversify?

•       What made you both decide to organize a “SERENITY” convention and as the film was released in 2005, why wait until 2007?

•       This year’s “Salute to Serenity” convention is your third; with one exception, you have had guest appearances from all the main principal cast members from both “SERENITY” and “Firefly” – why continue to organize the convention and would you continue until you can find a break in Chiwetel Ejiofor’s schedule  to say that you have managed to obtain all the principal cast?

•       What can attendees expect from this year’s convention?

•       You have a current fantastic guest list for “Salute to Serenity”, but of course, I have to ask if there are likely to be any further guest additions?

•       The convention has moved from Burbank to the Marriott at Los Angeles airport – is this a larger venue for you?  Was the venue chosen because the hotel also hosts the Gallifrey One “Dr Who” convention and therefore has experience of hosting such an event?

•       With  the diversification as mentioned in my second question; what makes you decide to run a convention for a particular show/film or to paraphrase “FIELD OF DREAMS”, is your bottom line a simple, “if we hold it, they will come”?

•       You both kindly donated a pair of Gold Pass tickets for the convention to this year’s global “Can’t Stop The Serenity” fund-raising – did either of you decide to attend any of the screenings arranged by the SoCal Browncoats?

•       I believe that your “Salute to Serenity” convention is a premier event for all Browncoats, so I have to ask if you are already thinking about a fourth one in 2010 or will you wait until the event is over before making a decision?

•       Unfortunately, as much as I wanted to, I was unable to attend your inaugural convention in 2007 and so 2008’s convention was my first experience attending a Creation event, I thoroughly enjoyed myself and am looking forward to November, but what do you both hope is the experience that every attendee takes away with them from any of your conventions?

Can I ask that you thank them for answering these questions, especially during such a busy time – it is greatly appreciated and I do look forward to being able to thank them personally in November.

Once I have received your reply, I will update our website within 24 hours and we will be publicly thanking all three of you in the podcast after the post.

I also look forward to your guidance with regard to November.  I hope that the convention this weekend is successful and not too stressful for all concerned.

Thank you again,

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

On Sep 2, 2009, at 3:26 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Hi Monica

Hope everyone is okay there? [This is in relation to the outbreak of fires – British news reports were saying that there were fires in the Glendale area]

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

Monica Gillen <->

02/09/2009 18:11

Oh, you are so sweet.

Thanks for checking!  PS I know I owe you the answers to your interview questions.  Should be able to do this week.

Thanks!  🙂

Monica

On Oct 19, 2009, at 4:35 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Hi Monica

Hope you are all well.

We last touched base in September and I was wondering if you have been able to get any further with regard to the questions below and if you have any guidance with regard to press passes?

Regards

Wendy

Monica Gillen <>

28/10/2009 20:03

To:        Wendy Scott <WSCott@ ->

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hey Wendy-

I just want to find out what this article is for, What is Sending A Wave?  What is the circulation?  Hits per month?

thanks

On Oct 29, 2009, at 1:08 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Hi Monica

“Sending A Wave” is a monthly “Firefly/Serenity” podcast from the UK.  We have a minimum of 2K downloads per month globally.  The podcast has been airing for over 2 years, we have produced over 50 shows and we can be found on iTunes.

We have interviewed Nathan Fillion and Greg Edmonson specifically with regard to their work and experiences on the show; we have covered “Firefly” conventions in the UK and was the only podcast to be present at the failed fan-run “Flanvention 2” in 2007.  From my trip to your “Saute to Serenity” convention last November, I was able to record enough content for 2 shows which we released in January and February copies of which were sent to yourself, Mr Berman and Mr Malin.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

Hey Wendy-

Both are so busy.  I can get someone else to answer the questions this week or do you only want Gary and Adam?  Will that work?

Thanks

Monica

On Nov 4, 2009, at 4:28 AM, Wendy Scott wrote:

Hi Monica

Thanks for your reply.  After eighteen months of communication with you regarding this, I’m not sure how best to reply.

The questions I submitted in August were geared toward Gary and Adam and therefore best answered by them; however I accept that after eighteen months circumstances have dictated that it will be not possible to speak with them in any capacity and I believe that it is a pointless exercise to pursue this particular request any further.  It is disappointing that we couldn’t make this happen as I am sure our audience would have found their experiences and insights fascinating.

I will be attending the convention in late November.  As the question of press passes/accreditation has been left unanswered, the podcast’s West Coast correspondent and myself have purchased your Preferred Weekend Packages and I would like to request that, given the circumstances which have brought us to this point, we could be accommodated as follows:

•       Both tickets (in the names of Colleen Harkins and Wendy Scott) have press accreditation – last year you put a “press” sticker on my Gold Pass.

•       Both myself and Ms Harkins are allowed entry into the Saturday Dessert Party and Sunday brunch.

Looking forward to seeing you later this month.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

Monica Gillen <->

04/11/2009 15:47

To:        “Wendy Scott” <WScott@->

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Wendy-

Sorry about this I just wanted to ask.  I can try one more time, it has been a very busy year. I can probably get a couple answered for you, how does that sound.

I will be able to give you a press credential as long as you have purchased a ticket but can not give any for the Saturday dessert party or the Sunday brunch, we never credential into these functions.  This is company policy!   Event the large accredited media outlets do not get to go!

Let me know,

thanks

Monica

From: “Wendy Scott” <WScott@->

Date: Wed, 4 Nov 2009 16:56:38 +0000

To: Monica Gillen<->

Subject: Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Monica

It is very kind of you to offer but as they are so busy I have no desire to disturb them further especially as you have tried on our behalf on so many occasions as it is.

Thank you for clarifying your policy – it was most informative and understandably disappointing given the particular circumstances which has brought us to this point.

Kind regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

04/11/2009 17:42

Please respond to m-g

To:        “Wendy Scott” <WScott@->

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

I really appreciate your understanding. Oh, I do have an idea! Let me see if I can at least let you into the dessert party at the beginning to get a few photographs! :). Would that help you? Monica

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

From: “Wendy Scott” <WScott@ – >

Date: Thu, 5 Nov 2009 16:55:06 +0000

To: <m-g>

Subject: Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

I appreciate that you are trying to offer some remedy for the difficulties we have experienced during the preceding eighteen months, but I will decline.  There will be photo opportunities during the weekend that will better serve to illustrate our coverage of the event and after attending both of these particular functions last year, I believe that it would be intrusive and simply not be the correct environment.

With regard to the dessert party and brunch, as I was never asked to remove my “press” ribbon from my Gold Pass when I attended both functions in 2008, I believe that your staff need to be reminded of your company policy for this year’s event.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

11/11/2009 01:00

Please respond to m-g

To:        “Wendy Scott” <WScott@ ->

cc:

Subject:        Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hey Wendy-Just had a event over the weekend in LA. Like you pointed out in your e-mail press was handled a certain way last year. This year I needed to tighten it up a bit and policies have changed. Sorry if I suprised. Can you send me you URL address? Also are you an accredited member of the press, if so what is your association? If not I need more information about yor site. Thanks!Monica

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

From: “Wendy Scott” <WScott@ – >

Date: Wed, 11 Nov 2009 17:48:55 +0000

To: < m-g>

Subject: Re: Interview request for “Sending A Wave”

Hi Monica

Thank you for your reply – I appreciate your explanation and in these days of mass – and very much, easy –  new media, it is only natural that you have to change and amend your policies.

Unfortunately that is what “Sending A Wave” is; I would love to tell you that I am a member of a UK press association, but I’m not.  I am simply a co-founder and presenter of a “Firefly/SERENITY” fan podcast that has been available for download since August 2006.  Our website is complimentary to the audio and as I have said before, in an ideal world any interview with yourselves would be recorded for the show rather than typed up on the website.  If you wish to view the website, http://www.sendingawave.wordpress.com

I keep making reference to the CDs which contained the two shows we were able to air from content that I recorded from last year’s “Salute to Serenity” event; I sent them in late February, were they ever received by Gary, Adam and yourself?  Please do not misconstrue or misunderstand – I spoke with fellow attendees within the public areas of the hotel during the course of the event or inside the main hall to attendees who were waiting for autographs after the event had finished.  Dedicated interviews were, again, conducted in public areas of the hotel.  I know that it is asking a lot for you to find the hour or so to listen to just one of the shows, but all the attendees who agreed to speak with me were nothing but complimentary towards the event and I would love for you to be aware of that.  I sent the CDs because it is highly unlikely that you would have downloaded them and I wished to show that we did produce something , especially as I was already planning to attend this year’s “Salute to Serenity” and remain interested in speaking with Adam and Gary.

The main reasons for me to be attending next week is because I thoroughly enjoyed the event last year (as a sideline, I am friends with – – who assisted Gary and Adam with their – – convention a number of years ago and he has nothing but good memories of his experience with Creation) and once again to be able to give our listeners who can’t be at your event a taste of it.

In light of your explanation, I do understand if you are unable to accommodate us; however as I hope you understand, with the amount of correspondence that has passed between us over the past eighteen months and to have you informing me of this within the final run-up for the convention, I can’t help but feel disappointed.

Regards

Wendy

Wendy Scott | PA & Booking Assistant to –

“This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.” Serenity 2005

From m-g

11/11/2009 18:15

Let me see what I can do! 🙂

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

I didn’t see the woman that I remembered as Monica at the event in November and the email dated 11 November is the last I have received from her.  I have never learned if she, Adam Malin and Gary Berman received the discs I sent.

3 thoughts on “Show 57: Creation Entertainment’s “Salute to Serenity and Firefly””

  1. I have a good idea as to why Creation got into Firefly/Serenity. They saw Sean Harry was running ‘Serenity:LA’ and decided to jump on board.

    Like

  2. Actually Creation saw fans ripped off by Booster conventions (which promoted a Firefly event in california and then cancelled it the day before the event without returning anyone’s money). Many fans then contacted Creation to run a Firefly convention they could depend on.

    Like

  3. My understanding is that Creation applied for a licence from Universal to run their “SERENITY” conventions (which is why they list them as “official”) prior to 2007. When compared to attendance levels of some of the other conventions that Creation have held, their “Salute to Serenity” conventions are extremely small and as they did not reply to my questions, any motive speculation remains personal. However, Gary Berman and Adam Malin are running a highly successful and long-running company, and it would not be a surprise to learn that in the wake of the Booster Events’s “Flanvention 2” debacle, they received many requests for Creation to consider running a “Firefly/SERENITY” convention, and, given the financial outlay involved for them to buy a licence, felt that it was a worthwhile addition to their business.

    Like

Leave a Reply

